– Sat 11 May | 14:00 – 17:00 | Leiden Living Rooms | trilogy: Murder, Myth & Mystery

 Back to programme

There are stories one should not ruin with the truth… Walk past three living rooms in Leiden and unravel the myths surrounding the mysterious death of three composers.

Murder, Myth & Mystery: Schumann – wrong medication…?
Murder, Myth & Mystery: Alkan – fatal books…?
Murder, Myth & Mystery: Tchaikovsky – suicide or just bad luck…?

Not everyone blows out their last breath in bed, aged and tired of life. Some composers came to their end tragically or bizarrely. From a fateful bookcase that crushed Alkan and the speculations surrounding Schumann’s medication to the never clarified cause of Tchaikovsky’s death…

Walk past three living rooms in Leiden and unravel the myths surrounding the mysterious deaths of these three composers. Close to the skin and personal atmosphere of someone’s living room: chamber music back to its roots!

The performers are ensembles of the Royal Conservatoire The Hague and Codarts Rotterdam. Every hour a concert starts, so that you will eventually hear three concerts of about half an hour. A drink is included!

I. Murder, Myth & Mystery I: Schumann – wrong medication…?

Schumann – Adagio & Allegro for viola and piano (1851)
Schumann – Märchenbilder op 13 for viola and piano
Nicht schnell
Langsam, mit melancholischem Ausdruck

Andrea Gelcich – viola
Abel Hox – piano


II. Murder, Myth & Mystery II: Alkan – fatal books…?

Charles-Valentin Alkan (1813-1888) – Piano trio in g minor (1841)
Assez largement
Très vite

Adventus Piano Trio:
Sander Lekkerkerk – piano
Romina Angel – violin
Sophie Ehling – cello

III. Murder, Myth & Mystery III: Tchaikovsky – suicide or stupid bad luck…?

Arensky – from string quartet no. 2 in a minor at 35:
II – Variations on a theme by Tchaikovsky
III – Final: Andante sostenuto. Allegro moderato

Tchaikovsky – from string quartet no. 1 in D major on 11:
I – Moderato e semplice

Azalai String Quartet:

Raquel Marín Garcés – violin
Alexandra López Arca – violin
Elena Santana de la Rosa – viola
Carla Peña Romero – cello


You will receive information about the route and the starting point in a separate mail. The participating addresses are:

– Antonie Duycklaan 10A, Leiden
– Johan de Wittstraat 18, Leiden
– Rijnsburgerweg 83, Leiden

You can combine this Huiskamerserie with the concert ‘Onvoltooid Verleden Tijd’ on Thursday evening 9 May in the Aalmarktzaal, Leiden.


Leiden Living Rooms

Combi-ticket Leiden Living Rooms + Onvoltooid Verleden Tijd (thursday 9 May, Aalmarktzaal):

Order a passe-partout? Click here